Blue Veil Collective
A wedding at a Westchester venue
Illustrative. A Westchester celebration.
Home › Mansions and Estates › The Davenport Mansion on the Sound
New Rochelle · Westchester County
Open to the public

The Davenport Mansion on the Sound

New Rochelle mansion on Long Island Sound that publishes $125 to $200 per guest on its own site and holds one event a day.

EstateHistoricBallroomWaterfront
Is this your venue? Claim this free listing to correct a figure, add pricing, or add a direct enquiry button. We link straight to you and take nothing for it.
Claim this listing

The Davenport Mansion on the Sound sits at 400 Davenport Avenue in New Rochelle, water on one side and a marble floored ballroom on the other. It publishes a price, which almost no Westchester mansion does. Wedding packages run $125 to $200 per guest depending on date and guest count, stated on the venue’s own wedding page. That is a first party figure and it is the reason to start here. Anyone can book, and no membership or sponsor is involved. The venue also commits in writing to one event a day. What it does not publish is nearly everything else. It gives no capacity, no site fee, no food and beverage minimum, no service charge, no end time and no rain plan. The Knot lists a $12,500 starting price and says couples typically spend $20,000, and it states plainly that those totals exclude service fees, taxes, gratuity and rental fees. So read the $200 top of the range as a floor, not a ceiling.

The numbers, labeled

Per person
$125 to $200 per guest, based on date and number of guests
first party
Event total
$12,500 starting price, $20,000 typical spend, both excluding service fees, taxes, gratuity and rental fees (on The Knot)
marketplace
Site or rental fee
Not published. Pricing is presented as an all in per guest package.
not published
Food and beverage minimum
Not published. The per guest rate is said to vary by date and guest count, but no thresholds are given.
not published
Service charge and gratuity
Not published. No service charge, administrative fee, maitre d’ fee or bridal attendant fee appears on the site.
not published
Outside vendors
In house catering, plus a hand picked vendor list for other categories. Whether that list is mandatory is not stated.
first party
Capacity
Not published by the venue. The Knot lists a 151 to 200 band and says up to 225.
marketplace
One wedding at a time
Yes. The venue publishes a one event a day policy and The Knot describes the same.
first party
End time
Not published, in a residential waterfront neighbourhood.
not published
Rain plan
Not published. An outdoor terrace and an indoor ceremony option both exist, but no rain call policy or deadline is stated.
not published

The $125 to $200 per guest range is the venue’s own, and it is the most solid number on this page. It is also incomplete. Nothing on the site says whether tax, service charge or gratuity sit on top, and The Knot confirms its starting figures exclude all three plus rental fees. Ask for a sample invoice at your guest count, with every charge listed, and ask what the $200 tier actually buys that the $125 tier does not.

The venue’s own wedding page at davenportmansion.com/weddings, its Knot marketplace listing, its WeddingWire listing, and its New Rochelle Chamber of Commerce membership record. All fetched 11 September 2026. Checked September 2026. First party means the business’s own site or rate card. Marketplace means The Knot, WeddingWire, Zola, Wedding Spot or similar. Nothing here is averaged or estimated.

The published per guest range does not state whether service charge and tax are on top, and The Knot says explicitly that its starting price excludes them. Expect the real per head cost to land materially above $200 at the top of the range.

The mansion prints a per guest range, and very few Westchester mansions do

The wedding page states that packages run $125 to $200 per guest, based on date and number of guests. It is published in plain text on the venue’s own domain. Most comparable properties in this county will not give you a number before a tour, so the range is worth something on its own.

Two things about it need chasing. The page does not itemise what the package covers. Open bar, cocktail hour and cake are not separately confirmed at those prices, so do not assume them into your budget. And the page says nothing about tax, service charge or gratuity. The Knot states that its own starting price for the venue excludes service fees, taxes, gratuity and rental fees. Plan above $200 a head rather than at it.

Anyone can book here, and the club next door is a different business

No membership requirement appears anywhere on the site. The venue markets wedding packages directly, runs a public contact page, and is listed on The Knot and WeddingWire with starting prices and no membership caveat. That is worth stating because the Davenport Club is a separate entity at the same end of New Rochelle and the two names collide in search results. Nothing on this venue’s own site conditions a booking on club membership.

Practically, that means there is no sponsor to find and no board to satisfy. You call, you tour, and if the date is free you book it. In a county where a large share of the big event properties are private clubs, that alone will shorten your shortlist. It also means the calendar is open to everybody else, so the popular Saturdays move early.

One event a day is in writing, which is rarer than the phrase suggests

The venue publishes a one event a day policy and gives its reason: staff focus on a single party. The Knot describes the same strict policy independently. In lower Westchester a large room often runs two parties on a Saturday, so this is a real point of difference.

Get it into the contract anyway. A policy on a web page stays a policy until somebody offers more money for your date.

The only capacity figure anyone publishes comes from a marketplace

The mansion publishes no capacity number. The ballroom, the terrace and a ceremony setup all go unquantified. The Knot places the venue in a 151 to 200 guest band and says it can accommodate up to 225. That is marketplace sourced and should be read that way.

The named spaces are a marble floored ballroom with crystal chandeliers and programmable LED lighting, a bridal suite, a groom’s lounge, a terrace with water views, and an indoor ceremony option. None carries a published capacity. If your guest list is near 200, ask which of those rooms The Knot’s 225 is supposed to describe, and get the answer in an email.

The building is described as 19th century and nothing more specific is published

The venue’s own wedding page describes a mansion built in the 19th century and recently renovated. That is the whole of the published history. No construction year, no architect and no original owner appears anywhere on the site, and the renovation is described without a date.

If the building’s story is part of why you want it, you will have to get that story from a person rather than a page. Ask when the renovation happened and what it touched. A recently renovated ballroom and a recently renovated mechanical system are different promises, and only one of them shows up in photographs.

Catering is in house and the vendor list is not explained

The venue handles catering, culinary, entertainment and floral work in house or through what it calls a hand picked list of vendors coordinated by its own team. It does not say whether that list is mandatory or advisory, and it publishes no outside vendor fee. The gap between those two readings is the difference between hiring the photographer you want and paying a penalty to do it. Ask which one applies before you sign.

Ask as well whether the in house entertainment and floral services are priced inside the per guest package or billed on top. The page lists them alongside catering, which reads as bundled, but nothing states it. A package that includes flowers at $200 a head is a very different deal from one that does not.

The numbers the mansion leaves out, and the one to chase hardest

A site or rental fee is not published. A food and beverage minimum is not published. The page is silent on service charge and gratuity. It is silent on how tax is handled. None of that is unusual for the market, but all of it lands on the same invoice as the per guest rate.

The end time is the one to chase hardest. The mansion sits in a residential waterfront neighbourhood, and no curfew or end time appears anywhere on the site. Ask what time music has to stop. Ask whether extra hours are sold, and at what rate.

The Knot’s totals belong in the same conversation. It lists a $12,500 starting price and a $20,000 typical spend, and says both exclude service fees, taxes, gratuity and rental fees. Those are marketplace totals rather than the venue’s own, and the venue’s own figure is a per guest range. Ask the mansion which shape your quote will take, and ask for the total at your headcount.

Other mansions and estates in Westchester

Abigail Kirsch at Tappan Hill Mansion, The Belvedere Estate, Castle Royale.

See the full mansions and estates list or the complete Westchester venue directory.

Cut across the categories instead: every Westchester venue on the water and the historic houses and castles.