Blue Veil Collective
A wedding at a Westchester venue
Illustrative. A Westchester celebration.
Home › Mansions and Estates › Wainwright House
Rye · Westchester County
Open to the public

Wainwright House

Rye retreat centre on five acres with a 150 guest minimum for a tented wedding, one exclusive caterer and beds for roughly two dozen guests.

EstateHistoric
Is this your venue? Claim this free listing to correct a figure, add pricing, or add a direct enquiry button. We link straight to you and take nothing for it.
Claim this listing

The number that decides Wainwright House for most couples is 150. That is the guest minimum for a tented wedding with music and dancing, according to Here Comes The Guide, and it is a hard gate rather than a guideline. If your list is 110, this is not your venue, whatever else it offers. What it offers is unusual: a non profit retreat centre on five organic acres at 260 Stuyvesant Avenue in Rye, spread across three buildings, with overnight accommodation on site for up to 24 people by the house’s own count. Anyone can book. It is not a club, it markets weddings, retreats and conferences publicly, and it states that it offers affordable rates for all groups with special rates for non profits. Catering is settled before you start: the house names Bartleby & Sage as its exclusive caterer on its own private events page. Every price we found is marketplace sourced, and two of those sources disagree.

The numbers, labeled

Per person
$170 to $250 per person including food and alcohol, or $160 to $260 per person when meals are priced separately (on Here Comes The Guide). The house publishes no per person figure.
marketplace
Site or rental fee
$6,500 to $20,000 per event (on Here Comes The Guide), charged on top of the per person rate. The Knot separately lists a $5,000 starting price and says couples usually spend $38,000. The two floors conflict and both are recorded.
marketplace
Food and beverage minimum
150 guest minimum for a tented wedding with music and dancing (on Here Comes The Guide). That is a headcount floor, not a dollar minimum. No dollar minimum is published.
marketplace
Service charge and gratuity
Administrative fee of 10% to 20% (on Here Comes The Guide). Whether it is a service charge or a gratuity is not specified, and tax handling is not stated.
marketplace
Outside vendors
Catering is exclusive to Bartleby & Sage, stated on the house’s own private events page. Alcohol may be in house or brought in, and amplified music is allowed indoors and outdoors with unspecified restrictions.
first party
Capacity
Seated 120 indoors and 250 outdoors; standing 250 indoors and 400 outdoors; music and dancing in the mansion up to 175 (on Here Comes The Guide). The Knot lists a 201 to 250 band, up to 250. No first party guest capacity is published.
marketplace
Accommodation
Overnight accommodation for up to 24 people, the house’s own figure. Here Comes The Guide and The Knot say up to 26 across three homes.
first party
One wedding at a time
Not published. The house also runs classes, workshops, retreats and conferences, so ask what else is booked on your date.
not published
End time
Not published. Amplified music is permitted indoors and outdoors with restrictions that are not specified, on a residential street in Rye.
not published
Rain plan
Not published. A tent is referenced for large weddings and the mansion holds up to 175 for music and dancing, but no backup policy is written down.
not published

Wainwright House publishes no prices at all, so every figure here comes from a marketplace and two of them disagree. Here Comes The Guide puts the rental floor at $6,500; The Knot puts it at $5,000. Neither platform is the house, and the house has published nothing. Add the per person rate and a 10% to 20% administrative fee on top of whichever rental applies. Before any of that, check the 150 guest minimum against your actual list.

The private events page at wainwright.org, the Here Comes The Guide listing, and The Knot marketplace listing. All fetched 11 September 2026. Checked September 2026. First party means the business’s own site or rate card. Marketplace means The Knot, WeddingWire, Zola, Wedding Spot or similar. Nothing here is averaged or estimated.

The 150 guest minimum for a tented wedding with music and dancing will disqualify most mid sized weddings. The exclusive caterer is first party but The Knot dates that arrangement to the end of 2020, so confirm it still holds.

A 150 guest floor for the tent against a 175 ceiling in the house

Here Comes The Guide states a 150 guest minimum for a tented wedding with music and dancing, and separately says music and dancing inside the mansion accommodate up to 175 guests. Read those two together and the workable band is narrow. Neither figure is published by Wainwright House itself.

The capacity picture around them is broader. The same source lists 120 seated indoors and 250 seated outdoors, with standing cocktails at 250 indoors and 400 outdoors. The Knot puts the venue in a 201 to 250 guest band and says it can host up to 250. The house publishes no guest capacities of its own at all, only overnight accommodation figures.

A third figure complicates the first two. The Knot puts the venue in a 201 to 250 band, while the tent minimum is 150 and the mansion’s dancing ceiling is 175. Those three numbers describe three different weddings. Ask the house which space it is quoting, and at what headcount, before you compare the price with anywhere else.

Two sources give two different floors for the rental fee

Here Comes The Guide lists a rental fee of $6,500 to $20,000 per event, varying by day of week, season, guest count and package. The Knot lists a $5,000 starting price for the same venue and says couples usually spend $38,000. Those two floors conflict, $5,000 against $6,500, and the table above keeps them apart rather than meeting them in the middle.

Wainwright House publishes no fee on its own site. So the rental number in your quote will be the first first party figure you see, and you should ask what moves it: which day, which season, which buildings, how many hours.

The per person rate is quoted two ways, and the difference is structural

Here Comes The Guide gives $170 to $250 per person for packages including food and alcohol, and $160 to $260 per person when meals are priced separately. Pricing is said to vary by season, guest count, event duration and package. Both figures sit on top of the rental fee, which is charged separately.

On top of that, the same source lists an administrative fee of 10% to 20%. It does not specify whether that is a service charge or a gratuity, and it says nothing about how tax is handled. Here Comes The Guide puts the per person rate at $170 to $250 and the rental fee at $6,500 to $20,000, so apply the percentage to your own headcount at your own rate before you decide it is a detail. Get the exact number and its base in writing.

One caterer, named by the house, with a date worth checking

Wainwright House states the exclusive partnership with Bartleby & Sage on its own private events page, which makes it the strongest first party fact in this record. It removes caterer shopping entirely, for better and for worse: no competitive bids, no tasting tour, one price.

There is a wrinkle. The Knot describes the exclusive in house caterer arrangement as being in place as of the end of 2020. Exclusive catering deals turn over. Confirm that Bartleby & Sage is still the partner before you build a menu around it. Alcohol can be in house or brought in, according to Here Comes The Guide, which is a meaningful saving if it holds.

Ask Bartleby and Sage for their own wedding pricing directly as well. An exclusive caterer will usually quote you itself, and that quote is the real per person number rather than the range a marketplace has published on the venue’s behalf.

Two dozen people can sleep here, which changes the shape of the weekend

The house publishes overnight accommodation for up to 24 people. Here Comes The Guide and The Knot put it at up to 26 across three homes. Both are recorded. Either way, the wedding party and close family can stay on the property, which is rare in lower Westchester and removes a whole category of logistics.

The five acres are described as organic, and the buildings hold formal dining rooms, a library, a solarium, multiple meeting rooms, a meditation room, three yoga studios, a walking labyrinth and a meditation garden. Individual room names and per room capacities are not published first party.

Ask what the overnight accommodation costs and whether it is rented separately from the event. Two dozen beds is either a large saving on hotel rooms or a separate line on the invoice, and nothing published says which.

The house runs other programming and nobody has said it stops

Exclusive use of the property is not promised anywhere in writing. Wainwright House also runs wellness classes, workshops, retreats and conferences, so ask specifically whether anything else is scheduled on your date and in which of the three houses.

Two other gaps. There is no published end time, and Here Comes The Guide notes only that amplified music is allowed indoors and outdoors with some restrictions, without saying what they are. This is a residential street in Rye. Ask what the restrictions actually say and what time they bite. There is also no written rain plan, despite a tent being central to the largest weddings here.

Affordable is the house’s own word, and it is worth testing

Then there is the non profit question. The house states that it offers affordable rates for all groups, including special rates for non profits. That is its own language, and the only published figures to measure it against are the ones on Here Comes The Guide, where the rental range runs from $6,500 to $20,000. Affordable and $20,000 are both true statements about this property and neither explains the other.

Other mansions and estates in Westchester

Abigail Kirsch at Tappan Hill Mansion, The Belvedere Estate, Castle Royale.

See the full mansions and estates list or the complete Westchester venue directory.

Cut across the categories instead: the historic houses and castles.